|  Login

News & Awards

Trustees' Teaching Award


University College follows the IU Trustees' Teaching Award (TTA) guidelines and selects one award for $2,500. Individuals must have completed at least three years of full-time service at the rank of lecturer or higher at IUPUI to be eligible. Previous TTA recipients are not eligible to receive the award again until two years have passed since receiving the TTA. 

Selection Criteria

The recipient will be selected by the University College Faculty Roles, Responsibilities, Recognition, and Development Committee (UC FRRRD) on the basis of excellence directly related to support for the University College mission and its programs. A strong commitment to University College with a focus on accomplishments during the previous calendar year will inform the selection process. The assessment will be guided by the following (applicants are not expected to demonstrate accomplishment in all areas):

  • Outstanding classroom performance in first-year courses
  • Teaching that leads to documented student learning in first-year courses
  • Curriculum development related to first-year courses
  • Innovative pedagogy related to first-year courses
  • Mentoring
  • Academic advising
  • Scholarship of teaching related to first year
  • Professional development 
  • Research related to first year
  • Use of academic support resources in teaching 

University College Recipients

2014–2015 Keith Anliker
2013–2014 Lisa Angermeier
2012–2013 David Sabol
2011–2012 Jacqueline Blackwell
2010–2011 Michael Yard
2009–2010 Susan Meshulam
2008–2009 Corinne Ulbright
2007–2008 Kate Thedwall
2006–2007 Sarah Baker
2005–2006 David Sabol
2004–2005 Jan DeWester
2003–2004 Corinne Ulbright
2002–2003 Joan Pedersen
2001–2002 Linda Haas